Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

FIA Announces Four New Qualifications for the Fire Detection and Alarm Sector

On 2nd May 2017 the FIA announced that they will be offering four new qualifications for the fire detection and alarm sector. You can book on to these from early July, after the official launch at FIREX this year on 20-22 June at the ExCel London. />

Four Qualifications, Four Units

Years of research have gone in to the development of these new qualifications. The courses are designed to reflect specific job roles – Designer, Install, Maintenance and Commissioning engineers. Each of the four qualifications consist of four units, these are common to all of the qualifications. This means if you wanted to achieve multiple qualifications there is no need to re-sit the three common units first as there is only a different final unit to pass.

Qualification Level

All four of the new qualifications are Level 3 on the Regulated Qualifications Framework (RQF) which is equivalent to an  A-Level or NVQ Level 3 by UK standards. As the European Qualification Framework differs from the UK’s, the new qualifications transfers to a Level 4 in Europe. This is one level higher than the level specified as the minimum level of education in EN 16763 – the services standard that specifies the minimum level of education for those working in the fire and security industry.

Ian Gurling, the Training Manager for the FIA stated, “Our members and learners have very much guided us in the process of designing these new qualifications.  Through surveys and feedback, we’ve kept an open dialogue with the industry to create qualifications that will be hugely beneficial to both learners and employers”

FIA Qualification Pathway

No prior qualifications are necessary to start the qualification pathway as each one begins with a Foundation unit. Giving learners a thorough understanding of the relevant standards, and best practice for the industry. Learners can then progress through the other units before choosing their final unit from a choice of four leading them to be qualified in their chosen area.

The qualifications in design, installing, maintaining, and commissioning fire alarms will be available nationwide. There will be a range of centres in England, Scotland, Wales, and Northern Ireland and are approved by the relevant government bodies for official qualifications in each country.

, ,

Comments are closed.