Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

FIA Qualifications: Time for change

As the nights draw in and the year comes to a close, we tend to forget about the next working year. Well, that’s not the case when it comes to the new FIA qualifications in fire detection and alarms.
It’s time to turn a new leaf!

Four new FIA qualifications courses are being introduced into the world of fire detection and alarm systems. These courses (upon successful completion) will be accredited at level 3 in the regulation qualification framework, the equivalent to A-level standard. They will be issued by an Ofqual recognised awarding body, recognised also by Welsh and Northern Irish Government education authorities.

The fire industry is ever changing, in addition to health and safety standards constantly improving. For that reason, fire sector standards must improve with them. All of these 1 to 5 day courses can be booked onto, upon the successful completion of the FIA AO Level 2 foundation course. The qualifications can be achieved by any experience of engineer and are available now, to book in starting 10th January.

With these courses: what the customers want, the customers get!

✓ Higher Standards

✓ Quality assured

✓ Better Service

So what does this mean for our engineers and technicians?

✓ Competence certified

✓ Proof of knowledge and expertise

✓ Capability recognised

The FIA fire detection and alarm system qualifications are achieved via formally invigilated closed book exams. No good at exams? No worries! Face-to-face classes with experienced trainers and support is offered when engineers enrol onto the new courses. Furthermore, a free resit is also offered, in case you have an off day the first time round.

The FIA AO Level 3 courses on offer nationwide are:

Advanced Designer – Fire Detection and Alarm Design Theory and Regulatory Requirements is a five day course consisting of comprehensive cover of current UK legislation, specific requirements for design of fire detection and alarms systems, advanced system design principles to BS 5839 and officiating designs.

Advanced Installer – The single day, Fire Detection and Alarm Installation, Theory and Regulatory Requirements course consists of installation methodology, building regulations, BS 5839/IS 3218, system testing and fault finding, and construction (design and management) regulations (CDM) 2015.

Advanced Maintainer – The Fire Detection and Alarm Maintenance, Theory and Regulatory Requirements qualification covers communication, false alarm and waste management, parts of BS 5839/IS3218/BS6266, servicing and system compliance.

Advanced Commissioner – Fire Detection and Alarm Commissioning Theory and Regulatory Requirements contains system interface verification, instructional techniques, maintenance methodology and system operation, in addition to BS 5839/IS3218/BS6266/BS 7273, covered over two days.

Out with the old and in with the new, because the deadline for the FIA qualifications takeover is January 2018. However, there is no need for panic; old units 1 – 6 will still be valid. See our 5 Need to Know Facts about the Existing FIA Qualifications.

, ,

Comments are closed.