Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

5 Need to Know Facts About the New FIA Qualifications

1. The FIA Has Announced Four New Qualifications

The FIA have identified four main job roles within the fire detection and alarm services sector as Designer, Installer, Maintenance, and Commissioner. It is from this that they have developed a qualification for each of the four job roles.

The qualifications are an advanced level, equivalent to an A-level. As qualification levels differ between the UK and Europe, a level 3 qualification in the UK is a level 4 on the European Qualifications Framework. This is one level higher than the minimum level of education in EN 16763.

The Fire Industry Association Awarding Organisation, or FIA AO for short, is the awarding body for the industry qualifications. The FIA training department is to be the first training center in the UK to offer the qualifications.


2. There Are Four Units Per Qualification

Each of the 4 qualifications have 4 units, Simple! Even more simple is three of the four units are the same across the qualifications. It’s the final unit in each module which identifies the qualification you will be awarded. This means if you wanted to gain multiple qualifications you wouldn’t have to re-sit the first 3 units – just the different final unit.


3. There is Help For Those With Additional Learning Needs

Don’t let your learning needs put you off! If you let the FIA know of your additional learning needs, e.g dyslexia, they can offer the help and support you need to succeed.


4. No Prior Experience or Knowledge is Needed

These qualifications are available to anyone! From complete beginners to those who have been working within the industry for some time, the qualifications will be tailored to suite you. It’s a perfect opportunity to level up the experience and knowledge that gives you the extra edge.

For beginners, it’s an opportunity to develop your knowledge and understanding to an advanced level, giving you a professional advantage t those who have not yet qualified.


5. When Can You Book on to These Courses?

The qualification will be officially launched at the FIREX event that takes place on the 20th-22nd June 2017 at the ExCel, London. There will be a number of seminars and talks taking place that you can find out more information from. There will be a networking bar where you can have a drink and chat to the FIA staff. Allowing you to ask any further questions and discuss the qualifications in more detail.


Are you seeking a new challenge? We are always looking for talented people to join our ever expanding team. Click here to see our current vacancies or call 0845 402 3045 for more information.

2 Responses to 5 Need to Know Facts About the New FIA Qualifications

  1. homeschooling July 1, 2017 at 6:50 am #

    Terrific post however , I was wanting to know if you could write a litte more on this subject? I’d be very thankful if you could elaborate a little bit further. Thanks!

  2. secured July 3, 2017 at 8:10 am #

    Hi there to every one, it’s genuinely a good for me to pay a visit this site, it contains priceless Information.